Etsy Etiquette

What is the proper way to behave on Etsy? It is quite clear when you are immersed in the Etsy environment that there really is a right and a wrong way to behave. It may take a while to find your way around Etsy, I’m no pro – learning more and more every day. But a few situations I’ve experienced or read about make me think that a guide to Etsy behavior is needed. It’s mostly about the Golden Rule, treat others the way you would like to be treated.

1. If I lika you, then you lika me, under the bamboo tree — get it? It’s about helping each other. We learn to promote here by being generous! Helping others is the way you get found. It seems contradictory, but it is The Way to go!

2. If someone “treasures” you (puts one of your items in a treasury). DO NOT use this occasion to try to sell the curator something. The correct response is to say “thank you”, and to help promote the treasury as best you can – tweet it, pin it, facebook it, etc. It has YOUR item in it, and will hopefully give you and your shop more exposure.

3. Always respond to your convos in a timely manner. I know it’s hard to do sometimes, but it is polite and in your best interest. Linda Hacker from the Etsy shop MLDesignWorks says, “I think answering convos is one of the most important things, and it sets you apart, folks remember that you replied quickly.”

4. Keep track of your hearts! I love to spread the love. I go around hearting everything. If someone gives me a place to post my items, I want to heart everyone I can just to thank for the opportunity to post and promote. But, unfortunately there is a limit to how many hearts one person can post. You can unheart and reheart items once per day. The limit on hearts per hour is not clear, but I believe it to me somewhere around 250. I have heard 100 (though I’ve counted at least 200 before running out of hearts). Some people say it’s 300. When you have been hearting a lot of items you want to refresh the page of the last items you have faved to see if your hearts are red or gray. If they are gray you have run out of hearts, if they are red, you’re good.

3 thoughts on “Etsy Etiquette

Leave a Reply

